Second day in Addis-Abeba

We are now facing the second day of the negotiation round organized by the ICG (International Contact Group) in Addis-Abeba. This negotiation session which will last three days, is the third, and likely the last, round which aims to settle the Malagasy political crisis. The negotiation meetings will take place in the Africa hall (premises of the AU) and led by the Jean Ping, president of the AU commission.

The official purpose of this third round is to validate the resolution taken on October 06th in Madagascar (Carlton Hotel, Antananarivo) and to proceed to the power-sharing of the new government of consensus. This resolution has triggered the anger of the former president Marc Ravalomanana because it has clearly stated that the presidency of the transition was “given” to  Andry Nirina Rajoelina. The AU emissary, Ouedraogo Ablassé, has even publicly declared that the ICG officialy recognized Andry Nirina Rajoelina as the president of the transition. “We will never agree with the fact that a putchist gets access to power, it is against the International law like the Algiers convention” He said. “It will create a very dangerous jurisprudence for all African countries” He added. According to Marc Ravalomanana, Ouedraogo Ablassé did not have the right to announce publicly the resolution because it could not be enforced without the signatures (the validation) of the four heads of movements.”Why should I come to Addis-Abeba if everything has already been decided by the ICG?” He asked.

Yesterday, during a visit to Marc Ravalomanana in Addis-Abeba, Jean Ping has declared that Ouedraogo Ablassé had spoken on his behalf. According to the president of the AU commission, the ICG has not validated the October 06th resolution yet. This sudden volte-face of the AU puts back on the table all the elements of the negotiation. Since yesterday, it has been clear that the negotiation round would be very hard because each opponent stands on their position.

Andry Nirina Rajoelina’s movement:

For the president of the HAT (High Authority of the Transition) and his followers, the outcomes from the October 06th resolution had to remain unchanged. The principle of having Andry Nirina Rajoelina as the president of the transition is definitively acquired. They also consider that their movement must have all the ministries of sovereignty and the key departments, to enable them to conduct “normally” the transition.

Marc Ravalomanana’s movement:

They stick on their steady position: “Transition without Andry rajoelina”. Like the Andry Nirina Rajoelina’s movement, they also require all the ministries of sovereignty and the key departments. They propose a new person as president of the transition: Raymon Ranjeva, who served as a judge on the International Court of Justice (ICJ) from 1991 till February 2009.

Raymond Ranjeva

Didier Ignace Ratsiraka’s movement:

They propose a collegiate presidency of the transition.

Zafy Albert’s movement:

They always insist on the fact that the most important is to focus on national reconciliation.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s